Navigate Up
Sign In

Book Clubs

Information about Whangarei District Libraries' book clubs and online clubs. 
Updated: 10/02/2021 4:08 p.m.

Book Clubs at the library.

If you are interested in taking part in our Library Book Clubs please register on the waiting list. 
You can register by:

  • sending an email including your name and daytime phone number; or
  • leaving your name and contact details at the Information desks at any of our libraries.

Contact us

Email: whglibrary@wdc.govt.nz

Afternoon  Book Club

Afternoon Book Club meets at Whangarei Central Library from 1 to 3 pm on the 1st Monday of each month.

Topics for 2021

  • Monday 1 March - bugs
  • Tuesday 6 April - modern English woman writer
  • Monday 3 May - broken
  • Tuesday 8 June - poetry
  • Monday 5 July - classic
  • Monday 2 August - comedy
  • Monday 6 September - drama
  • Monday 4 October - musician/s
  • Monday 1 November - travel
  • Monday 6 December - humans connecting

Evening Book Club

Evening Book Club meets at Whangarei Central Library from 5.30 to 7.30 pm on the 2nd Monday of each month.

 Topics for 2020

  • Monday 8 March - courage and perseverance
  • Monday 12 April - murder mystery
  • Monday 10 May - between 2 cultures
  • Monday 14 June - Scandinavian writer
  • Monday 12 July - winter
  • Monday 9 August - young adult
  • Monday 13 September - climate
  • Monday 11 October - animals
  • Monday 8 November - travel
  • Monday 13 December - a book published in 2021

Evening Book Club reading lists of books

Tikipunga Book Club

Tikipunga Book Club meets at Tikipunga Library from 2 to 3 pm on the 1st Tuesday of each month.

Topics for 2020

  • Tuesday 2 March - a country you'd like to visit
  • Tuesday 6 April - a book by Chris Bohjalian
  • Tuesday 4 May - food culture
  • Tuesday 1 June - a book by a Scandinavian author
  • Tuesday 6 July - mountains
  • Tuesday 3 August - a book that is a movie
  • Tuesday 7 September - birds
  • Tuesday 5 October - aging
  • Tuesday 2 November - a diary
  • Tuesday 7 December - a book by a ghostwriter

Tikipunga Book Club reading lists of books

Online Book Clubs

Not able to come to our library book clubs. There are many online clubs and reader discussion groups. Follow the link below:

Resources

Disclaimer/Copyright

Whangarei District Council owns this website and the information, images and photographs in it are subject to copyright. No portion may be copied or republished without prior permission of Whangarei District Council. We have made every reasonable effort to provide accurate and reliable information. The use of any information is at the website visitor’s own risk and discretion.