Navigate Up
Sign In
Our libraries are closed however we have an extensive online library. See our COVID-19 information.

Book Clubs

Information about Whangarei District Libraries' book clubs and online clubs. 
Updated: 7/04/2020 4:59 p.m.
 


All book club meetings at our libraries are cancelled until further notice.

 

 

 

 

If you are interested in taking part in our Library Book Clubs please register on the waiting list.  You can register by either:

  • sending an email including your name and daytime phone number; or
  • leaving your name and contact details at the Information Desks at any of our libraries.

Contact us

Email: whglibrary@wdc.govt.nz

Afternoon  Book Club

Afternoon Book Club meets at Whangarei Central Library from 1 to 3 pm on the 1st Monday of each month.

Topics for 2020

  • CANCELLED: Monday 6 April - escape
  • Monday 4 May - play/playwright
  • Tuesday 2 June - poetry
  • Monday 6 July - challenge (out of comfort zone)
  • Monday 3 August - painting
  • Monday 7 September - fire
  • Monday 5 October - emptiness
  • Monday 2 November - change
  • Monday 7 December - an old favourite book

Evening Book Club

Evening Book Club meets at Whangarei Central Library from 5.30 to 7.30 pm on the 2nd Monday of each month.

 Topics for 2020

  • CANCELLED: Monday 6 April - who done it
  • Monday 11 May - dystopia
  • Monday 8 June - autobiography
  • Monday 13 July - translation
  • Monday 10 August - a gothic novel
  • Monday 14 September - minorities
  • Monday 12 October - a book that is a movie
  • Monday 9 November - a disaster
  • Monday 14 December - a debut novel

Evening Book Club reading lists of books

Tikipunga Book Club

Tikipunga Book Club meets at Tikipunga Library from 2 to 3 pm on the 1st Tuesday of each month.

Topics for 2020

  • CANCELLED: Tuesday 7 April - gardening
  • Tuesday 5 May - a New Zealand historical novel
  • Tuesday 2 June - music
  • Tuesday 7 July - a Pasifika author
  • Tuesday 4 August - a graphic novel or comic
  • Tuesday 1 September - a book by Tim Pears
  • Tuesday 6 October - biography
  • Tuesday 3 November - art or artist
  • Tuesday 1 December - the ocean

Tikipunga Book Club reading lists of books

Online Book Clubs

Not able to come to our library book clubs. There are many online clubs and reader discussion groups. Follow the link below:

Resources

Disclaimer/Copyright

Whangarei District Council owns this website and the information, images and photographs in it are subject to copyright. No portion may be copied or republished without prior permission of Whangarei District Council. We have made every reasonable effort to provide accurate and reliable information. The use of any information is at the website visitor’s own risk and discretion.