Navigate Up
Sign In

Using My Lists

How to use My Lists feature in the Library Catalogue to save search results.
Updated: 15/01/2016 3:12 p.m.

Keeping the results of your Library Catalogue searches

When you find items after searching the Library Catalogue that you want to keep and organize, you can save them in your My Lists. You can create and customize your lists, and you can print or email your lists. From My Lists, you can also place holds or request items.
 

Adding items to My Lists

Add items to your My Lists by ticking the box next to the item (1) and then selecting Add to My Lists (2) using the Select An Action drop-down from either a search results page or an item's detail display.

If you are logged in to the system, you will be prompted to select which of your lists you want to save items to.

If you are not already logged in to the system, any items you add to My Lists will be sent to a Temporary List.

To access your custom lists, you will need to first log in.

Using your Temporary List

If you are logged in to the system, you can move items into other lists, or you can save the entire list. In essence, you will be creating a new list out of the items in your Temporary List.
My Lists view in the Library Catalogue.
To save your Temporary List, select Save Temporary List from the Select An Action menu (1).

A window will open and ask you to name the new list. Enter the name and click Save to save the list or Cancel to go back.

If you log out without saving the list, the Temporary List will be cleared.

If you are not logged in, the list of titles will be cleared after your session has expired (about 10 minutes with no activity in the browser). You can log in after you have placed items in your Temporary List to move them to one of your saved lists.

Viewing and arranging My Lists

Your Temporary List and your saved lists are listed in the left-side window under the Lists heading.

To view a list, click on it. It will open in the main window.

To arrange your saved lists, do one of the following:
Drag to order items icon in the Library catalogue.
Use this icon to drag and drop your lists in the order you want them to appear.
 
Use the Arrange By drop down (2) to arrange your lists alphabetically (ascending or descending) or by the time they were created (most recent first or oldest first).

Adding and Deleting lists

Add to List icon in the Library catalogue. To create a new list, click the Add List button (3).  A window will open and prompt you to name your new list. Enter the name and click Create to create the new list or Cancel to go back.

Delete list icon in the Library catalogue. To delete lists, select the lists you want to remove and then click the Delete Lists button (3).
 

Viewing and arranging items in a list

You can click on the title or image of any item to view its detail page.

To arrange items in a list, do one of the following:

Drag and drop icon  to order lists in the Library catalogue. Use this icon to drag and drop your lists in the order you want them to appear.

Use the Arrange By drop down (2) to arrange your lists alphabetically (ascending or descending) or by the time they were created (most recent first or oldest first).

Placing holds or requests

If you are not already logged in when you try to place a hold, the system will prompt you to log in. A window will appear for you to specify the Library where you want to pick up the item when it is available.

Once you have selected the pickup Library, click Place Hold. The system will tell you if the hold was successfully placed or not.

Once you have placed a hold on an item, you will be able to see it in My Account under the Holds tab.

Selecting an action

First, select the items you want to do an action on, or use the Select All check box (5) to select all items on the page. Then choose the action you want to take from the Select An Action menu (1).
My Lists Select an Actions drop down menu.

Delete Selected:
To remove items from a list.
 A window will appear to confirm that you want to remove the item(s) from your list.
Click Delete to remove the item(s) or Cancel to go back.

Move: To move items from one list to another.
A window will appear for you to select which list you want to move the item(s) to.
Click Move to move the item(s) or Cancel to go back.

Copy: To copy items from one list to another.
A window will appear for you to select which list you want to copy the item(s) to.
Click Copy to move the item(s) or Cancel to go back
 
Email:  To email item information.
A window will appear where you can enter the email address where the item(s) information will be sent. If you want to send the email in plain text format instead of HTML, select the option. Click Send Email when you have finished.
 
Print  To print item information. The item(s) information will display on a new page in print format. Use your browser's print option to send the information to a printer.

 




 

 

Resources

Disclaimer/Copyright

Whangarei District Council owns this website and the information, images and photographs in it are subject to copyright. No portion may be copied or republished without prior permission of Whangarei District Council. We have made every reasonable effort to provide accurate and reliable information. The use of any information is at the website visitor’s own risk and discretion.